Ground Power Units : AFSG-1 - MMG-1A


Ground Power Unit AFSG-1

Pierre GILLARD: Ground Power Unit Type AFSG-1 - Aviation royale canadienne-Royal Canadian Air Force &emdash; 2021-430817

The AFSG-1 is a Direct Current (DC) Aircraft Ground Power Unit (GPU). It was designed and built by the Canadian Westinghouse Company Limited of Hamilton, Ontario for the Royal Canadian Air Force (ARC-RCAF). The QAM model was built in 1952. Taking its source from 115/230 VAC 60 Hz, it is able to supply 100 A at 14 VDC or 50 A at 28 VDC. A switch inside the device allows selection of the output voltage. This GPU is intended for use in hangars and workshops. It is equipped with four wheels allowing its movement.

The QAM’s AFSG-1 underwent some minor modifications during its life; it should be restored in the conditions closest to those of the time. It will be able to supply the QAM aircraft requiring an external DC power supply once operational.

The QAM’s AFSG-1 GPU was donated by the École nationale d'aérotechnique in Saint-Hubert, QC. It is currently being restored to working order as part of student activities at the school.

Description (to come)

Pictures

HAUT DE LA PAGE - TOP OF PAGE


Mobile Electric Power Plant MMG-1A

Pierre GILLARD: Ground Power Unit MMG-1A - Mobile Electrical Power Plant &emdash; 2022-627782

The MMG-1A is a small, compact, trailer-mounted, electric motor-driven generator set (MEPP-Mobile Electric Power Plant). It provides 60 KVA of power under 115/200-volt, 3-phase, 400-hertz AC, and 500/1,000-ampere 28-volt DC power for aircraft maintenance, calibration, and support. Operation of the unit requires a 3-phase, 60-hertz, 220- or 440-volt external power source. The 30-foot input and output cables are stowed in compartments in the rear and left front side of the unit. It was used by the U.S. Navy both aboard ships (including aircraft carriers) and ashore. The MEPP is not self-propelled and must be towed or manually moved. The 4-wheel trailer is equipped with tie-down rings, pneumatic tires, a mechanical hand brake, and a tow bar for towing and steering.

The QAM’s MMG-1A, bearing serial number PJC084, seems to be in good general condition even if it is no longer able to function normally. It will be able to supply QAM aircraft with both alternating current and direct current once repaired and declared perfectly functional.

The QAM’s MMG-1A MEPP was donated by the École nationale d'aérotechnique in Saint-Hubert, QC. It is currently being restored to working order as part of student activities at the school with the financial support of Bell Textron Canada, Mirabel, QC.

Description (to come)

Pictures

HAUT DE LA PAGE - TOP OF PAGE


Dernière mise à jour/Last update : 03-10-2022.

© Pierre GILLARD & Pierre MÉNARD

Groupes d'alimentation électriques : AFSG-1 - MMG-1A


Groupe d'alimentation électrique GPU AFSG-1

Pierre GILLARD: Ground Power Unit Type AFSG-1 - Aviation royale canadienne-Royal Canadian Air Force &emdash; 2021-430817

L’AFSG-1 est un groupe d’alimentation électrique (GPU-Ground Power Unit) en courant continu (DC) pour aéronefs. Il a été conçu et réalisé par la Canadian Westinghouse Company Limited d’Hamilton en Ontario pour l’Aviation royale canadienne (ARC-RCAF). L’exemplaire du MAQ a été construit en 1952. Prenant sa source en 115/230 VAC 60 Hz, il est en mesure de fournir 100 A sous 14 VDC ou 50 A sous 28 VDC. Un commutateur à l’intérieur de l’appareil permet la sélection de la tension de sortie. Ce GPU est prévu pour une utilisation dans les hangars et les ateliers. Il est équipé de quatre roulettes permettant son déplacement.

Au cours de sa vie, l’AFSG-1 du MAQ a subi quelques petites modifications; il devrait être remis en état dans les conditions les plus proches de celles de l’époque. Une fois fonctionnel, il pourra alimenter les aéronefs du MAQ nécessitant une alimentation externe en courant continu.

L'AFSG-1 du MAQ a été donné par l'École nationale d'aérotechnique de Saint-Hubert, QC. Il est actuellement en cours de remise en état de fonctionnement dans le cadre d'activités étudiantes à l'école.

Description (à venir)

Photos

HAUT DE LA PAGE - TOP OF PAGE


Groupe d'alimentation électrique MEPP MMG-1A

Pierre GILLARD: Ground Power Unit MMG-1A - Mobile Electrical Power Plant &emdash; 2022-627782

Le MMG-1A est un générateur entraîné par un moteur électrique (MEPP-Mobile Electric Power Plant) monté sur un robuste châssis compact pouvant être tracté. Il est en mesure de fournir une puissance de 60 KVA sous 115 VAC triphasé 400 Hz ainsi que 500 A à 1.000 A sous 28 VDC pour toutes les opérations de maintenance, de calibration ou de soutien technique. Pour fonctionner, une alimentation électrique externe de 220 VAC ou 440 VAC triphasé 60 Hz est nécessaire. Tous les câbles, d’une longueur de 10 mètres chacun, prennent place dans des compartiments situés à l’arrière et sur les côtés de l’équipement. Il était utilisé par la U.S. Navy autant sur les navires (les porte-avions, notamment) que sur les bases situées sur la terre ferme. Le MMG-1A ne dispose d’aucune propulsion et doit être manœuvré manuellement ou à l’aide d’un tracteur. Monté sur quatre solides roues équipées de pneumatiques, il est équipé d’anneaux d’ancrage, d'un frein mécanique manuel ainsi que d’une barre munie d’un anneau pour pouvoir le guider et le tracter.

Portant le numéro de série PJC084, le MMG-1A du MAQ semble être en bon état général même s’il n’est plus en mesure de fonctionner normalement. Une fois réparé et déclaré parfaitement fonctionnel, il pourra alimenter des aéronefs du MAQ autant en courant alternatif qu’en courant continu.

Le MMG-1A du MAQ a été donné par l'École nationale d'aérotechnique de Saint-Hubert, QC. Il est actuellement en cours de remise en état de fonctionnement dans le cadre d'activités étudiantes à l'école grâce au soutien financier de Bell Textron Canada de Mirabel, QC.

Description (à venir)

Photos

HAUT DE LA PAGE - TOP OF PAGE


Dernière mise à jour/Last update : 03-10-2022.

© Pierre GILLARD & Pierre MÉNARD